Cold Hard Type series

Cold Hard Type is Loose Dog Press's unique series of anthologies on typewriter-related themes.  
All text in the series is typewritten, and every contribution includes a typewriter in some form.

Cold Hard Type I
Paradigm Shifts: Typewritten Tales of Digital Collapse

Digital technology is breaking down—and typewriters are back. Join storytellers, poets, and artists as they explore the collapse and its aftermath.

 Contributors include Linda M. Au, Wendell Berry, David G. Brechbiel, Valentine J. Brkich, Catalina Cariaga, Barbara DeMarco-Barrett, Frederic S. Durbin, Trinity Grau, Kristofferson Harris, Arkadiusz Hubczuk, Michael Kitchen, Steve Kuterescz, Jos Legrand, Bill Meissner, R. J. Montgomery, Vinny Negron, Robert Neuwirth, Erich J. Noack, Reine Nust, Carol Ochs, Christopher Ochs, Joey Patrickt, Cornelia Penner, Mark Petersen, Richard Polt, Aaron Schmidt, Nutthawut Siridejchai, Charles Sterrow, Istvan Takacs, Joe Van Cleave, Armando Warner, Matthew Weaver, and Brian Zimmerman.


Cold Hard Type II
Escapements: Typewritten Tales from Post-Digital Worlds

With no digital technology, the world can be a harsh place—and a surprising one. Whatever happens, our typewriters will be there to document it. Imagine the possibilities in this collection of stories, poems, and art.

 Contributors include Wendell Berry, Jenny Bristol, Rory Bristol, Ariana Davenport, Shelley K. Davenport, Jamie Davies, Frederic S. Durbin, Mathilda-Anne Florence, N. E. Glenn, Martyn V. Halm, Lori Hedges, John Howell, Scott Kernaghan, Shane L. Larson, Timothy Ley, L. A. Marler, Todd Mauldin, C. M. Mayo, Andrew V. McFeaters, Bill Meissner, Klaus Mielke, Eliezane Moon, Duane Morrison, John Munroe, Christopher Ochs, David W. Pedersen, Jim Pennington, Monica Quinn, Kim E Revay, Charly Roland, Andre Gene Samson, Philip L. Simpson, Maria Tolentino, Armando Warner, and Donald Winzer.

Cold Hard Type III
Backspaces: Typewritten Tales of Time Travel

If you could travel back in time, where--and when--would you go? What adventures would await you? Explore the possibilities in this unique collection of art, poetry, and typewritten stories in many genres.

Contributors include Dedé Assi, Brandon Bledsoe, Clara Chow, Shelley K. Davenport, E. R. Delafield, Frederic S. Durbin, Mathilda-Anne Florence, Daniel Gewertz, N. E. Glenn, Albert Goldbarth, Martyn V. Halm, Chad Harrison, Martha Lea, Ewan Matheson, Andrew V. McFeaters, Bill Meissner, Vincent Negron, Erich J. Noack, Charles W. Ogg, Joey Patrickt, Mark Petersen, Richard Polt, Hannah Ricke, Rachel Schnellinger-Bailey, Marni Scofidio, Philip L. Simpson, Denise Terriah, Armando Warner, and Matt Wixey.

Cold Hard Type IV
Dead Keys: Typewritten Tales of Terror

Can a writing machine become a weapon against evil—or a tool for it? Can it type exquisite tales of terror? Find out—if you dare—in this collection of fiction, poetry, and art. 

Contributors include Merinda Boekhoudt, Ryan Buchanan, Ken Coghlan III, Shelley K. Davenport, Séafra Duffy, Frederic S. Durbin, Gabe Dybing, David Freeman, Ian Gillespie, Sondra Holtzman, Joseph M. Jablonski, Kelye Kneeland, L. B. Kolmas, Cassandra Leoncini, Timothy Ley, Bryan Mahoney, Andrew V. McFeaters, Erich J. Noack, David W. Pedersen, Richard Polt, Kim e Revay, Heriberto Roselló, André Gene Samson, Marni Scofidio, David Tellet, Denise Terriah, Fred Von Drasek, Matthew Weaver, and Matt Wixey.

Cold Hard Type V
Margin Releases: Typewritten Tales of Transgression

Crossing the line can be delightful, disastrous—or both. Explore the possibilities in this collection of typewritten fiction, poems, and art. 

 Contributors include A. J. Banner, Tim Champlin, Soren R. Clifton, Alphonso Costello, Shelley K. Davenport, M. K. Davis, Mathias Dubilier, Zoe Dubilier, Frederic S. Durbin, CJ Jones, Michael Keller, Michael Kitchen, Martha Lea, Kevin Lenear, Timothy Ley, Eric Litra, Michael Mandley, Andrew V. McFeaters, Vinny Negron, Reine Nust, J. H. Olley, Chris Osmond, David W. Pedersen, Richard Polt, Heriberto Roselló, Aaron Schmidt, Rachel Schnellinger-Bailey, Marni Scofidio, SarahJane Shaw, Paul Singer, Brian Sonia-Wallace, Mikal Stet, Dorene Suminski, David L Tellet, Zachary Thede, Armando Warner, Jennifer Wilson, and Matt Wixey.

For inquiries, contact:
Richard Polt
Dept. of Philosophy
Xavier University
3800 Victory Pky.
Cincinnati, OH 45207-4443

Subscribe to updates from Loose Dog Press

* indicates required